top of page

2020 Governor’s Heritage Preservation Honor Awards and Governor’s Archaeology Advisory Commission Awards in Public Archaeology


Ten honorees for the 2020 Governor’s Heritage Preservation Honor Awards and eight honorees for the 2020 Governor’s Archaeology Advisory Commission Awards in Public Archaeology, publicly announced today, were selected by panels of professionals in the fields of archaeology, cultural resource management, historic preservation, history, and museum operations.


Because the 2020 Arizona Historic Preservation Conference and Awards Ceremony, originally scheduled for mid-June, was postponed until next year due to COVID-19, honorees will be recognized at a “Preservation in Place” virtual conference on June 18, 2020.  The recipient of the James W. Garrison Honor Award, selected from the ten preservation honorees, will also be announced live at “Preservation in Place.” To register for the event, free to the public, click here. To view videos of the award recipients, click here


State Historic Preservation Officer Kathryn Leonard noted, “Although our collective efforts are focused on embracing the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic, we still need to make time to celebrate the accomplishments in our state. 2019 was a great year for historic preservation and archaeology and communities and individuals throughout the state worked hard to ensure that our heritage resources will contribute to the vitality of Arizona for years to come.”


Since 1982, the Arizona Preservation Foundation and State Historic Preservation Office, a division of Arizona State Parks and Trails, have partnered to present the Governor's Heritage Honor Preservation Awards. The awards recognize people, organizations, and projects that represent outstanding achievements in preserving Arizona's prehistoric and historic resources.


Jim McPherson, board president of the Arizona Preservation Foundation, noted, “What’s unique about this year’s class of honorees is its geographic diversity. Nine communities and one statewide initiative are represented, highlighting the breadth of interest, commitment, and activity for historic preservation in the Grand Canyon State.”


Since 1988, the Governor's Archaeology Advisory Commission has recognized individuals and programs that have made significant contributions to the protection and preservation of, and education about, Arizona's non-renewable archaeological resources.


According to Ian Milliken, chair of the Governor’s Archaeology Advisory Commission, “The highlight of a Commissioner’s service on GAAC is honoring our colleagues who have provided outstanding contributions to heritage preservation and education. Each of their contributions represents a vital stitch on the tapestry of Arizona’s deep and unique history.”


The 2020 honorees are as follows:


Governor’s Heritage Preservation Honor Awards

  • Ball-Paylore House, Tucson

  • Fry Pioneer Cemetery, Sierra Vista

  • Joan Fudala, Scottsdale

  • Neon Sign Park, Casa Grande, JAMES GARRISON HERITAGE AWARD

  • Nile Theater, Mesa

  • Restoration of 1895 Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad Depot, Wickenburg

  • Restoration of the Arizona State Parks Heritage Fund

  • E. Stuart Howard House Restoration Project, Phoenix

  • Susan Deaver Olberding, Flagstaff

  • Tempe Butte Beatification Project


Governor’s Archaeology Advisory Commission Awards in Public Archaeology

  • Desert Archaeology Inc. Field Journal (For-Profit Corporation)

  • Duston “Dusty” J. Whiting (Avocational Archaeologist)

  • Fred L. Nials (Lifetime Achievement)

  • Gail Roper (Site Steward)

  • Jenny L. Adams (Lifetime Achievement)

  • Malcolm McGregor (Site Steward)

  • Neil Weintraub (Professional Archaeologist)

  • Tonto National Forest Tribal Monitoring Program (Government Agency)

PiP Logo LARGE.png
bottom of page